So many people do not know the other grains which gluten is found in and this can sincerely cause you troubles for someone with celiac disease or gluten sensitive.
Gluten is the common name for the proteins in specific grains that are quite harmful to anyone with celiac disease. These proteins are found in ALL forms of wheat (including durum, semolina, spelt, kamut, einkorn and faro) and related grains rye, barley and triticale and MUST be eliminated, if one is diagnosed with Celiac disease.
When people who are celiac eat foods that contain gluten, it creates an immune-mediated toxic reaction that causes damage to the small intestine and does not allow food to be properly absorbed. Even small amounts of gluten in foods can affect those with the celiac person and cause health problems. Damage can occur to the small bowel even when there are no symptoms present. It truly is very important to get tested properly.
Visit my References and Shop page and/or ask your doctor about getting tested if you have any suspicion you may be celiac or gluten sensitive. If you are, you will be happy to get the bottom of your troubles!
Share some of your recipes with me too. I am always on the lookout for good ones with all these grains we have at hand.
From our home to yours, Miranda Jade.