Popular Old Time Gluten-Free Chocolate and Candy Companies

There are a variety of candies that are tempting and appealing at the stores and especially strategically placed at the check-out stand. Just because you or someone you know can not eat gluten is no reason to toss out your sweet tooth. By all means keep reading.

I am in favor of a low glycemic diet, especially for the celiac but there are times that we may want a little goody. I personally attack the GF cookies I always have on stock but the following information is good to have on hand.

Here is some information about a few favorites:

  • Skittles and Starburst: As of Sept ’09 they put “Gluten Free” in small print under the ingredients list if its gluten free. I guess sometimes the fine print isn’t so bad after all.


  • Smarties (One of my husband’s favorites): They stated in Sept ’09 in the “Allergies” section of their website, that “Smarties and our entire line of products are gluten free. If the UPC number on the packaging begins with ‘0 11206’, you can be assured that it is manufactured in a facility that is gluten free and safe to eat if you have Celiac Disease.”


  • Reed’s (ginger candy): As of July ’08 all their products were gluten free.


  • Pop Rocks!: As of sept ’09 those fun mouth teasers are gluten free.


  • Nestle: They have a whole page listing out all their products that are gluten free. All sorts of things from sprees to raisinets.  Last update was Aug ’09.


  • Justborn: Mike and Ike, Hot Tamales, Peeps Marshmallows (which are around all seasons with new fun designs), Peanut Chew, Teenee Beanee Jelly Beans and Just Born Jelly Beans are gluten free as of Aug ’09.


  • Hershey’s: Hershey’s makes something that everyone likes and that’s chocolate. And lucky for us a lot of their products don’t have gluten in them! Some of their GF products are: milk chocolate bars, almond chocolate bars, milk chocolate kisses, york peppermint patties (I like these frozen), Jolly Rancher hard candies and lollipops, Hershey’s baking cocoa and Hershey’s unsweetened and semi-sweet baking chocolate. Call them to be sure if there is ANY question.


  • Godiva: All of their products including solid chocolate pieces may contain gluten. Any person with a gluten allergy should NOT consume ANY of their products. Shucks!


One site helping to get the word out about candies and tries to keep their list updated is:


Tina Turbin

From our home to yours, Tina Turbin
If you have any questions or suggestions just email me at info (at) GlutenFreeHelp.info.

About Us

I'm a cookbook-collecting, recipe-developing paleo junkie, and I live in the kitchen. I'm hooked on farmers' markets, traveling, eating healthy, and hiking until my legs scream at me. There's nothing better than hanging out with family and good friends. I have fun and sleeping is just plain boring. Read more About Tina Turbin.

3 thoughts on “Popular Old Time Gluten-Free Chocolate and Candy Companies

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.