These days, health food stores and supermarkets are offering gluten-free foods such as pasta, cereals, breads and cookies. Also, most of your chicken, beef, turkey, fresh produce, beans and rice, etc. are available too.
It is extremely important to read labels when shopping. As of January, 2010, if you read a label that says gluten-free, it only means the ingredients listed are not gluten items. This is not a “guarantee” that any one of the ingredients is not cross contaminated with gluten. Any one of the suppliers could also carry or manufacture wheat, rye or barley (or a derivative) in their facility.
If the company you are purchasing from is not completely ethical and caring about celiacs, they will not care to look into their suppliers “history”. This can lead to products being labeled gluten-free when they are not.
The same goes with testing. As of January, 2010 there still isn’t a law stating that any company has to have products tested to pass a standard considered gluten-free.
Miranda Jade Turbin
From our home to yours, Miranda Jade.