One of the first steps in switching to a gluten-free diet is learning to read labels. Here are some helpful tips on how to pull this off successfully.
There are a couple of steps to determine if a food product is gluten-free. First, see if wheat is in the ingredients list or if it’s listed in an allergen statement. If it is, forget about it—the product isn’t gluten-free. However, if wheat isn’t listed, the second step is to read the ingredients list and see if barley, rye, or malt, malt flavoring (which can be made from barley), malt vinegar (made from barley), or triticale are listed (celiac patients are advised to consult with their doctor about including oats in their diet). If any of these are present in the ingredients, the product isn’t gluten-free. If none of these are listed, then the product is gluten-free and safe for you to eat. You can always call the manufacturer to be certain that the manufacturing process doesn’t permit cross-contamination.
The passing of the food allergen labeling law was a landmark victory for the celiac community. The law was the first step in empowering the celiac consumer who, with these helpful tips, can study food labels to make sure his diet stays truly gluten-free.
From our home to yours, Tina Turbin
If you have any questions or suggestions just email me at info (at) GlutenFreeHelp.info.