Distilled Beverages and Gluten

Distilled beverages, alcohol, and vinegars are gluten-free. Distilled alcohol is also known as “spirits” or “liquor” and comes from distilling fermented foods such as grain, fruit, and vegetables.

According to Living Without, research shows that gluten peptides are too large to make it through the distillation process.

Watch out for liqueurs, though, which are distilled beverages that have sugar and flavorings added to them. These additional ingredients may not be gluten-free.

As far as undistilled beverages go, such as beers, ales, malt vinegars, hard ciders, and lagers, these aren’t gluten-free, although wine is. Luckily gluten-free beers can now be found in the U.S.

Miranda Jade


From our home to yours, Tina Turbin
If you have any questions or suggestions just email me at info (at) GlutenFreeHelp.info.

About Us

I'm a cookbook-collecting, recipe-developing paleo junkie, and I live in the kitchen. I'm hooked on farmers' markets, traveling, eating healthy, and hiking until my legs scream at me. There's nothing better than hanging out with family and good friends. I have fun and sleeping is just plain boring. Read more About Tina Turbin.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.